Friday, 3/9/07

A vast cornucopia of treasures on the opening day of TEFAF.
Thursday, 3/8/07

Preparing for TEFAF on our first full day in Maastricht.
Wednesday, 3/7/07

A rainy first evening in the beautiful town of Maastricht.

Celebrations in midtown, downtown, and Palm Beach.
Tuesday, 3/6/07

Just landed.

Celebrating The Frick and the Loebs.
Monday, 3/5/07

Heading out for Maastricht on the eve of much adoin' in Manhattan.

Monday's lineup.
Friday, 3/2/07

Sunny days, rainy days, The Frick puts a glow on for Young Fellows Hunt Ball last night.

NYSD House Decorator Series featuring Clare Fraser.

Thursday, 3/1/07

A Prominent New York Family celebrates its history at a book party last night.

David Shepard and DIFFA.
Wednesday, 2/28/07

Lincoln Center Institute's annual gala awards dinner; Museum of the City of New York's Winter Ball.

Young Friends of Save Venice gathered to celebrate their Red and White Masked Ball.
Tuesday, 2/27/07

Lunch with SAB; cocktails with Michelle Marie.

A visit with Oscar and back to New York for some local causes.
Monday, 2/26/07

Evidence Dance Company’s annual Grace in Winter Gala; A kick-off party for the 2007 New York International Auto Show.

Can't Do Without: A Warm Trapper Hat.
Saturday, 2/24/07

The Art Set: The Armory Show 2007 opened on Thursday with a preview benefiting the Museum of Modern Art.
Friday, 2/23/07

NYSD House Decorator Series featuring Larry Laslo.

Jeanne Lawrence brings us to the San Francisco Ballet’s 74th Opening Night.

Friday's finest.
Thursday, 2/22/07

An exciting opening night of The Art Show at the Seventh Regiment Armory on Park and 67th Street.
Wednesday, 2/21/07

A trip to the bountiful galleries of downtown followed by dinner at ye olde (and brand new) Waverly Inn.

The Breast Cancer Research Foundation's luncheon and symposium in Palm Beach; "A Little People's Valentine Dance" at Doubles.
Tuesday, 2/20/07

Jill Krementz celebrated a birthday in her studio surrounded by actors and artists and authors and such; all friends.

New York Botanical Garden's Orchid Dinner.

Social Safari: Winter Weekend in Palm Beach.
Monday, 2/19/07

The Telegraph of London remembers the life of a gun moll straight out of L.A. Confidential.
Friday, 2/16/07

Wrapping up the weeks of storms and parties, including the parties of the year, the decades and the centuries.

More from Jeanne Lawrence and her San Francisco Social Diary.

Susan celebrates Valentine's Day right here.
Thursday, 2/15/07

Cold and windy winter day in New York; Mayor celebrates his birthday at Michael's.

Lots of goodies on today's party pics.
Wednesday, 2/14/07

Sorta stormy weather had no effect on celebrations last night in New York.

The last of fashion week with Zac Posen; Stribling's party to celebrate the opening of The New Yorker Condominium.
Tuesday, 2/13/07

Book party in SoHo for Bridie Clark and her roman a clef, Because She Can.

Two for Tuesday.

The Passionate Shoppper: The Boxer Re-bellion!
Monday, 2/12/07

Dennis Basso steps out at the Tents; new fashion face in town; and a sudden sad loss in New York.

Lovestruck on NYSD.

The tireless work of amfAR.
Friday, 2/9/07

Jeanne Lawrence and the San Francisco Social Diary visit James Galanos, LeRoy Neiman, and the Buena Vista Pub.

The Search for Mr. Adequate: Susan makes a splash at Marc Jacobs.
Thursday, 2/8/07

Lunch at Michael's on the confiding side; drinks at Darren's bidding fond farewells and bon voyage for Jonathan Capehart.

The Cinema Society's screening of “Seraphim Falls”; The New York City Ballet's annual Luncheon.

Can't Do Without: One Bright Winter Warm-Up.
Wednesday, 2/7/07

Cold Spell but warm and cozy: Luncheon for a duchess; Awards for our Citizen's dinner; Tribute to a Latin American artist.

Recitals, grand openings, and gala evenings.

More on Citizens for NYC.
Tuesday, 2/6/07

Os and Oscar all on a frigid Monday in New York.

NYSD all over the map.

Jamee Gregory reports on the Oscar show.
Monday, 2/5/07

Palm Beach Weekend; where the diamonds find their best friends ...

Booth after booth of Palm Beach: America’s International Fine Art & Antique Fair.
Saturday, 2/3/07

More from Palm Beach.
Friday, 2/2/07

Big doin's for a balmy, not-so-quiet night in Palm Beach (with more pictures on Saturday).

Young Collectors of the Winter Antiques Show party the night away at Doubles.

The Search for Mr. Adequate: Susan, mellow no more.
Thursday, 2/1/07

The Passionate Shopper's Ultimate Skin Care Products.

Westport and Hollywood life.

The Art Set Interview: Joanne Cassullo.
Wednesday, 1/31/07

Frenetic Tuesday in Manhattan, with a burst of snow in the early morning.

A night at the MCNY for Louis Auchincloss; Down to Palm Beach to stay warm.
Tuesday, 1/30/07

In the Presence of Presidential Candidates.

From The Waverly Inn to MSG to the Armory.
Monday, 1/29/07

Last night the Metropolitan Opera Guild hosted its annual Opera New's Awards.

New York to Miami to the Caribbean and back again.
Friday, 1/26/07

NYSD House Decorator Series featuring Matthew White and Frank Webb.

A tequila sunset and a luncheon for Oxbow School on the San Francisco Social Diary.

The Search for Mr. Adequate: Susan's back from Palm Beach with stories ...
Thursday, 1/25/07

New York nights: book parties on Park Avenue, duchesses and dinners at Le Cirque.

A weekend Acqualina extravaganza; The 4th annual "An Evening of Expectations"; New Yorker's For Children's Network to Success Hip-Hop Panel for NY Youth.
Wednesday, 1/24/07

Last night's International Women's Health Organization's "Invest in Women; Invest in the World."

Shopping Safari's next stop, Nolita.

Cinema Society screening of Dreamgirls; A reception in Palm Beach honoring Francesca Romana.
Tuesday, 1/23/07

New York, inside and out.

The Passionate Shopper's Chocolate Gold Gems.

Burden and Magazine, the two Susan's behind New Yorker's For Children.
Monday, 1/22/07

More faces from the 53rd annual Winter Antiques Show.

A broad selection of this year's exhibitors.

Central Park Conservancy's annual ice-skating party; Opening night for “To Your House”; The New York Philharmonic honored Arturo Toscanini.
Friday, 1/19/07

A preview of the 53rd annual Winter Antiques Show.

San Francisco Social Diary bids farewell to 2006.

NYSD House Decorator Series featuring Mark Zeff.
Thursday, 1/18/07

A real winter's day.

Palm Beach, L.A., Miami, and right here on Park Avenue.
Wednesday, 1/17/07

Social activity springs to life in the dead of winter.

The Passionate Shopper: Gloves are Hot, Hot, Hot.
Tuesday, 1/16/07

The newest additions to the List: Boaz Mazor and Michael Vollbracht.

A little bit of everything on today's Party Pictures.
Monday, 1/15/07

Remembering the man who changed the face of the world.
Friday, 1/12/07

Mothers and Daughters, New York style.

NYSD House Decorator Series featuring Ann Pyne.

The Search for Mr. Adequate: Susan goes to the movies.
Thursday, 1/11/07

DPC observes gentle and modest giants day and night in little ole Manhattan.

Catchiing up with Palm Beach.
Wednesday, 1/10/07

Yesterday was an NYSD Day for the Books.
Tuesday, 1/9/07

DPC Reflects on High Roads and Low.

Shopping for Wigs.

Dressing up with Dress for Success.
Monday, 1/8/07

Restaurant legends: a night at "21" and remembering Vincent Sardi Jr.

More from the 52nd annual Debutante Ball; Historic Hudson Valley Founder’s Award dinner; Graff hosted a kick-off reception in Palm Beach for the 16th annual Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Discovery Ball; Cocktails for the American Cancer Society of Palm Beach.

Can't Do Without: The Littlest Hoodie.
Friday, 1/5/07

Lunch at the Century Association clubhouse.

Shopping Las Vegas with Anita Sarko.

The Palm Beach wedding of Rosanna Zimbaro and John Sherman Castle; A holiday party at Brooks Brothers to benefit St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.

The Search for Mr. Adequate: Susan rings in the New Year.
Thursday, 1/4/07

A trip to the Met where Nan made history.

The 52nd International Debutante Ball; Book party for A House in the South.

The Passionate Shopper Re-discovers the Joy of the Thank-You Note.
Wednesday, 1/3/07

Stopping in at Klosters in Switzerland and JH's Excellent Caribbean Adventure.

Closing out 2006 with a few more sets of party pictures.
Tuesday, 1/2/07

The day after New Year's ...

Archival Evening to benefit the Historical Society of Palm Beach County; SLE Lupus Foundation's "Life Without Lupus" Gala; Doubles’ Santa Claus Is Coming to Town; A screening of ‘Golda’s Balcony.’
Friday, 12/29/06

A quiet week in New York and our last entry of 2006.
Thursday, 12/28/06

Christmas in Connecticut; Week after Christmas in New York.
Wednesday, 12/27/06

One of the treats of Holiday/Christmas time is the cards, and we've got lots for you.
Tuesday, 12/26/06

Yue-Sai Kan gave a birthday dinner at her Sutton Square mansion for her friend Richard Turley.
Friday, 12/22/06

The Way They Live with Robert Rufino.

The passing parade at Michael's.

Jeanne Lawrence's San Fran Social Diary takes her to Napa Valley.

The Search for Mr. Adequate: Susan smells the roses.
Thursday, 12/21/06

New York turned winter-cold yesterday.

New York Botanical Garden's Winter Wonderland Ball; Cinema Society and Cole Haan's hosted a screening of Candy; Missoni hosted a cocktail party at its SoHo boutique; American Friends of the Hebrew University's annual Scopus Award Gala; John Loring hits Worth Avenue.
Wednesday, 12/20/06

Winter days harken DPC's first experience with holiday glamour New York style; plus parties, parties, and more parties last night.

Night at the Museum; Cocktails with Tricia; Down in South Beach.

Shopping Safari heads down to Soho.
Tuesday, 12/19/06

Holiday parties from Park Avenue to Greenwich Village.

Madison Square Boys & Girls Club's 40th annual Christmas Tree Ball; The 9th Annual Food Allergy Ball; The Foundation for Ethnic Understanding’s Fall Benefit; The Girl Scout's 14th Annual Women of Distinction Breakfast.

The broad brushstrokes of Ruth Shuman and Publicolor.
Monday, 12/18/06

Gawker engrossing Kuczynski; Beitzel-Walker Holiday party and the 29th birthday of Julie Macklowe.

Everything but The Kitchen Sink on today's Party pics.

The Passionate Shopper's ... Merry, Merry, Merry Pearl Day.
Friday, 12/15/06

NYSD House Decorator Series featuring Betty Sherrill.

Summing up the week before the week of Christmas.

The Search for Mr. Adequate: Susan goes psychic.
Thursday, 12/14/06

Two from Chicago; The Friends of the Israel Defense Forces' annual Young Leadership Gala; The Friends of the Hudson River Park's Holiday on the Hudson; American Cancer Society's annual Laureate luncheon.

The Art Set Interview with Susan Dunne.
Wednesday, 12/13/06

Holiday Spirit from Paige.

The Nutcracker Family Benefit; Kennedy Center Honors Gala; Celebrating the New York Center for Autism Charter School; Minyanville's first ever Critters’ Choice Awards.

Partnering up with the Partnership for Public Service.
Tuesday, 12/12/06

A book party for Art Buchwald, a holiday cocktail reception on the social scene and the lighting of the tree in Central Park.

Only in New York, kids, only in New York (and in Palm Beach on occasion).
Monday, 12/11/06

Christmas is coming and everyone's coming to New York, plus JH and the Digital take in Manhattan from on high.

The NYU Child Study Center's 9th Annual Child Advocacy Award Dinner; The MacDowell Colony's annual gala; The Society of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center hosted a sweet soiree.

Nan Kempner: American Chic.
Friday, 12/8/06

NYSD House Decorator Series featuring Shelia Bridges.

The practicality of charity: City Harvest.

Can't Do Without: Real Southern Caramel Cake.

The Search for Mr. Adequate: The 411 on 911.
Thursday, 12/7/06

Last night at Antiques & Fine Arts at the Armory.

"The Ultimate Dinner Party" benefiting Children's Home Society of Florida; Greenwich Historical Society's 49th annual Antiquarius preview party; Antony Todd opened his first New York City store.

12 gifts that keep on giving.
Wednesday, 12/6/06

Cold and mild in New York.

Autism Speaks theatre gala in Westport; A benefit down in Texas for the U.S. Fund for UNICEF; opening of té casan New York.

Cant' Do Without ...
Tuesday, 12/5/06

The first cold hit New York yesterday.

Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater celebrated the opening of its annual season; A reception for of Elle Décor's Dan Ragone; A private viewing of the American Museum of Natural History's newest exhibition, GOLD.

The Passionate Shopper: 'Tis the Season.
Monday, 12/4/06

Jane Stanton Hitchcock celebrated her sixtieth; Susan and Coleman Burke celebrated "25 Years of Joy and Mischief."

A reception for the friends of the Bronx Museum of the Arts; The Cinema Society's special screening of Babel; A Massachusetts reception for the Dana Farber Cancer Institute; "Red Party Benefit" for the Marine Assist Foundation.
Friday, 12/1/06

NYSD House Decorator Series featuring Bruce Bierman.

Rundown of the week.

The Search for Mr. Adequate: Susan goes psychic.
Thursday, 11/30/06

Starstruck at Michael's.

Wildlife and the Arts on today's lineup.

Shopping Safari visits the Meatpacking District.
Wednesday, 11/29/06

Waiting for winter but keeping busy still.

New Yaawk, Chicago, and Savannah.
Tuesday, 11/28/06

A night of respite.

Raking it in on NYSD ...

Diana Quasha and the Lenox Hill Neighborhood House.
Monday, 11/27/06

A relaxing Thanksgiving Weekend in New York.

The Museum of Arts & Design's 2006 Visionaries! Awards gala; A book party for Party Confidential; Montefiore Medical Center’s Global Women’s Health Awards Gala; a private party at Ingrao gallery with House & Garden.

The Art Set profiles curator Carmen Gimenez and the Guggenheim's "Spanish Painting from El Greco to Picasso: Time, Truth and History."
Friday, 11/24/06

House of Munn: The Palm Beach Story. Clemmer Mayhew explores the various prominent branches of the Palm Beach family's tree.
Wednesday, 11/22/06

Last night's opening of the New York City Ballet.

NYSD lands in Connecticut, Los Angeles, Washington D.C., and Chicago.
Tuesday, 11/21/06

Tiffany's annual holiday luncheon and a dinner at MoMA to celebrate the opening of the Lewis and Dorothy Cullman building.

AMNH Gala, Guggenheim International Gala, ASPCA Awards Dinner, History Makers at N-YHS, and Jonas Mekas opening.

The Art Set is back with a profile of the Studio Museum of Harlem's Thelma Golden.
Monday, 11/20/06

NYSD at Table.

Balls, galas, luncheons, book parties galore.

The Passionate Shopper: Seeing Red.
Sunday, 11/19/06

Jeanne Lawrence looks back at San Francisco's Fashion Week and is on hand for Berkeley's Bancroft Library's Salute to Joan Didion.
Friday, 11/17/06

NYSD House Decorator Series featuring Alan Tanksley.

One World on NYSD ...

The Search for Mr. Adequate: It's a busy time of the year.
Thursday, 11/16/06

Catching up is hard to do.

French-American Foundation's 30th anniversary gala; Safe Horizon Junior Council’s "Red Hot Night"; 18th Annual Light Up A Life.
Wednesday, 11/15/06

Fame and Fortune.

Friends in Deed's fall benefit dinner; The New York Design Center's Masquerade Ball; The Miami launch of Amy Sacco's Cocktails; Frances Hayward welcomed animal lovers to Christie's.

One Perfect Blue Blazer.
Tuesday, 11/14/06

Last night's brilliant Library Lions 2006 Awards dinner at The New York Public Library.

Last night, Henri Barguirdjian and DPC hosted a book party at Graff for Charlie Scheips and Christophe von Hohenberg.
Monday, 11/13/06

A Saturday afternoon tour of the neighborhood; Cold Spring Harbor's inspirational First Annual Double Helix Awards.

Aspen Institute's 23rd Annual Awards Dinner; Doubles' "Ghosties and Goodies" Halloween Party; The New York City Ballet celebrated its 2007 Winter Season at Sicis; Neil Jenney and Donald Sultan at Tony Ingrao.
Friday, 11/10/06

NYSD House's The Way They Live, featuring Joy Ingham.

Running the gamut on NYSD ...

The Search for Mr. Adequate: Susan riffs on getting emails.
Thursday, 11/9/06

Erica Jong and her daughter Molly Jong Fast in association with DPC hosted a cocktail party for the New York Public Library "Cubs."

The Cinema Society and Zenith Watches hosted a screening of "Flags of Our Fathers"; Luca Luca hosted a brunch to celebrate New York City Opera’s Hansel and Gretel Family Benefit; American-Scottish Foundation's 50th Anniversary.
Wednesday, 11/8/06

Uptown/downtown.

Running with Leggings by Ki Hackney.

Glamming it up on NYSD ...
Tuesday, 11/7/06

Around town, the scuttlebutt about, Hillary down at Michael's, the Caravaggio up at The Frick, something to see and hear.

36th anniversary gala of the Feminist Press at the City University of New York; Pre-concert dinner at the New York Philharmonic; United Cerebral Palsy Research and Educational Foundation held a dinner at Graham Arader Gallery.
Monday, 11/6/06

A beautiful First Sunday in November; Marathon days; Friday night's “You Are the Young and the Hopeless.”

The World Monuments Fund's annual Hadrian Award luncheon; The Americans for The Arts National Arts Awards gala; A “warm-up” for the Career Transitions for Dancers 21st Jubilee.
Friday, 11/3/06

NYSD House Decorator Series featuring Juan Montoya.

Crackers for Animals and Lucky Dogs (and raccoons).

Jeanne Lawrence's San Fran Social Diary.

The Search for Mr. Adequate: Susan talks about Trick or Treat!
Thursday, 11/2/06

Lunch on the Michael's Rialto with Michael Gross and cocktails at chez Carolyne Roehm.

The fabulous POSH Sale at the Lighthouse; Montefiore's annual fundraising gala; and more from Tuesday night's Living Landmarks dinner.
Wednesday, 11/1/06

Last night's Living Landmarks gala; and Halloween costumes for all.

The Power of Style.

P.S.1 Contemporary Art Center's 30th Anniversary celebration; Grand opening of Tibi boutique in Soho.

 

© 2006 David Patrick Columbia & Jeffrey Hirsch/NewYorkSocialDiary.com